Author Topic: How To Ghost & Partition & Copy  (Read 5896 times)

Offline Thumb

  • Global Moderator
  • Forum VIP.
  • *****
  • Posts: 6668
    • Redfoots.com
How To Ghost & Partition & Copy
« on: June 24, 2005, 12:27:11 PM »
I finally got my new drive working via using Ghost & Partition Magic. I had a lot of trouble getting it too work but all is fine now. Here are the steps I had to do to partition and ghost a new HD:

1. Set the new HD jumper to make it a Slave Drive

2. Load and run Ghost and do a 'Copy Drive' from my C Drive(OS) to the new HD with the following settings checked:
  2a. Check Source for file system errors
  2b. Set drive active (for starting OS)
  2c. Disable SmartSector copying - This is a must!
  2d. Destination partition type - If this is a Primary drive with OS installed it     must be set to 'Primary'.
  2e. Assign a drive letter
  2f. Copy MRB - This is also a must if this drive is for the OS

3. After copying the drive 'C', then open & run Partition Magic
4. Right click on the newly copied HD and select Create.
5. Make a new 'Logical' partion and type in what size you want the partition to be.
6. Repeat steps 4-5 to add more partitions if needed by right clicking in the unallocated area.
7. Now open Ghost again and choose 'Copy Drive'
8. This time choose the next partition in your old drive as your source and choose one of the newly created partitions you made previously with Partition Magic using the following:
 8a. Check Source for file system errors
 8b. Disable SmartSector copying
 8c. Destination partition type - 'Logical'.
 8d. Assign a drive letter

9. Repeat steps 7-8 for more partitions if needed.
10. Shut down the computer and disconnect the new HD.
11. Set the jumper to make the new HD the 'Master'(If it contains the OS)
12. Disconnect the old HD and connect the ribbon cable and the power cable to the new HD.

Now this is where I had my problems. After turning on the computer with the new HD set as my Primary 'Master' drive, Windows loaded up and then the screen went blank and kept rebooting until I shut off the computer manually.

 This time, I went into safe mode. Once it was loaded, it said it found new hardware and now must re-start the computer.

 When the computer rebooted, all was fine and now I have a new & bigger HD!

Seems like a lot of work to do just to get a new HD copied with Ghost.

Hopefully you will not have this problem but if you do, maybe this will work for you also.

Note: Noticed that AnyDVD did not recignize any DVD drives and had to re-install it. Now it works fine again.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Thumb »
My brain is full. Can I go home now

Offline billy07

  • FORUM VIP
  • Forum VIP.
  • ****
  • Posts: 108
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2006, 08:12:59 PM »
^^^
i have norton gost 9 but am abaut to to put norton gost 10 and whit 9 i only did one back up when i first got my secound hard drive put sisnce i have to ininstall number 9 so am thinking of backing up my system whit nero 7 ultra i balive it has to back up a drive so i just whant to know.. also get use to backing up my system thanks also the reason i got 10 is that i got nortons system works 2006 premier and it has in it nortons gost 10
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by billy07 »

roadrunner2455

  • Guest
Re-Ghost
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2006, 08:18:15 AM »
Question reguarding norton ghost 9.0.When using ghost do I want to just use the option to back-up my drive ?Or copy one drive to another for back-up option.I think it would be back-up drive.So say I back-up my drive.C-Drive ?Will it also back up and save recovery optioon which HP calls E drive that is w/in C-Drive ?Little confusing there for me.
              I never had to restore from ghost yet.I know you just go to the restore option in ghost to restore image.Will that image have the M.B.R. in it ?Anotherewards pc will still reboot as always using this option in ghost won"t it ?T.I.A.  

                                         R.R. 2455
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by roadrunner2455 »

Offline Carolina Mike

  • Chief Forum Janitor
  • Forum VIP.
  • ******
  • Posts: 1889
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2006, 08:44:19 AM »
RR,
Backup the drive is correct.  You have to back up each partition separately if I am not mistaken.  Make sure that you have the MBR w/ a check mark and if I use Ghost I make sure all of the other options have check marks also.

If there is a problem down the road then you will boot from the Ghost disk and then read the data from wherever you saved it.

A better program is to use Acronis as I think that takes a image shot of the complete HD and does not require you to save the individual partitions as it does it automatically.  I have both and use both.  Some drives just do not like one or the other of the programs.  I have found Samsung drives do not like Ghost but Acronis can be used to make a backup.  Some WD drives have problems w/ Acronis but none w/ Ghost.
Just remember Ghost on recovery comes up in a Windows environment and Acronis restore via a Linux environment
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Carolina Mike »
"Women do not sunbathe... They are doing a solar enhancement"


I will not answer a PM if I think the question should have been asked on the forum.

floppy

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2006, 08:54:43 AM »
CM is correct.
Ghost:   you must b/u each partition separately.
Acronis:   b/u each partition separately or the whole drive.

Both will image ALL content within the selected drive.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by floppy »

roadrunner2455

  • Guest
Re-Ghost
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2006, 11:19:48 AM »
Yea CM was right.I was able to back up both drives,and with same operation.What I"m wondering though is lets say I need to restore C_drive.After just restoring C-Drive (Not E-recovery sector w/in C) will the recovery sector that was originally on C_drive still be there ?Or would I have to restore E byself as well to show up ?Hopefully you understand my question.IT"s just I never had to restore from ghost and really don"t know what to expect after restoring.T.I.A.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by roadrunner2455 »

floppy

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2006, 12:16:07 PM »
All data within an image will be applied to the selected drive. Nothing more.......nothing less.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by floppy »

Offline Carolina Mike

  • Chief Forum Janitor
  • Forum VIP.
  • ******
  • Posts: 1889
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2006, 12:38:08 PM »
Just like Floppy stated anything that is on the C: drive will be restored.  The hidden partition just usually holds the companies re-install programs
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Carolina Mike »
"Women do not sunbathe... They are doing a solar enhancement"


I will not answer a PM if I think the question should have been asked on the forum.

roadrunner2455

  • Guest
Re-Ghost
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2006, 02:20:58 PM »
Cool,so if I copy C I will get hiiden partition on it they call e ?I was beggining to think I was going to have to buy acronis to get the entire c-drive including hidden partion e..Thanks.I will re-do w/ only copying c then

                                               R.r. 2455
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by roadrunner2455 »

Offline Carolina Mike

  • Chief Forum Janitor
  • Forum VIP.
  • ******
  • Posts: 1889
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: October 08, 2006, 05:56:19 PM »
No,
It will only do the C Partition.  You will have to do the E partition by itself..  Ghost does only 1 partition at a time.  C is one and E is another
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Carolina Mike »
"Women do not sunbathe... They are doing a solar enhancement"


I will not answer a PM if I think the question should have been asked on the forum.

roadrunner2455

  • Guest
Re-Ghost
« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2006, 06:00:47 PM »
Awe shoot.I had it that way.ghost will do both at same session,does smaller partition 1st and then C. as second.Both show up in my computer.Was wondering how it would do both when 1 file system is a fat32 and main a ntfs.Oh well practice makes perfect.It don"t hurt hard drive to keep reformatting it does it ?Thanks for the heads up.Will redo now

                                                     R.R. 2455
« Last Edit: October 09, 2006, 02:32:48 AM by roadrunner2455 »

Offline Carolina Mike

  • Chief Forum Janitor
  • Forum VIP.
  • ******
  • Posts: 1889
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2006, 07:55:32 PM »
It should not hurt the HD to re-format it.  Go ahead
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Carolina Mike »
"Women do not sunbathe... They are doing a solar enhancement"


I will not answer a PM if I think the question should have been asked on the forum.

Offline Pavelow

  • Forum Specialist
  • Forum VIP.
  • ******
  • Posts: 2674
(No subject)
« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2007, 09:00:54 AM »
Quote from: "Carolina Mike"
RR,
Backup the drive is correct.  You have to back up each partition separately if I am not mistaken.  Make sure that you have the MBR w/ a check mark and if I use Ghost I make sure all of the other options have check marks also.

If there is a problem down the road then you will boot from the Ghost disk and then read the data from wherever you saved it.

A better program is to use Acronis as I think that takes a image shot of the complete HD and does not require you to save the individual partitions as it does it automatically.  I have both and use both.  Some drives just do not like one or the other of the programs.  I have found Samsung drives do not like Ghost but Acronis can be used to make a backup.  Some WD drives have problems w/ Acronis but none w/ Ghost.
Just remember Ghost on recovery comes up in a Windows environment and Acronis restore via a Linux environment


How do I get Norton Ghost to recognize my USB Western Digital Drive in the Recovery environment.  Ghost 10.0 works fine at backing up the C: drive to the USB drive.  But when I try to recover the C: drive in the recovery environment, there is no USB drive to choose from.  In fact the only drives available in the recovery environment are C:, X: (norton on the DVD drive), and Z: RAM (whatever that is, showing internet files).  I do not have a Z or X drive, so those were created in the recovery environment by Norton.  Symantec wants me to send them a bunch of info including drivers, system info, and inf files to creat a custom recovery disc.  I have no idea how to get the sychronized .inf files with the appropriate drivers.  Anyone got a better idea?  Sorry for the double post.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Pavelow »
Pavelow
“The Boogy man not commeth because I carry.  He knows I'll put a cap in his ass." - Me

Offline Carolina Mike

  • Chief Forum Janitor
  • Forum VIP.
  • ******
  • Posts: 1889
(No subject)
« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2007, 01:38:35 PM »
Pavelow,
For your computer to see the WD USB ( i think it should w/ out a problem) you will probably need to make a BartPE CD or a Reatogo CD.  Both will use the OS enviroment instead of using Dos as Ghost does.  I also take it that you are trying to recover from the Norton Disk and not from the OS?

Can you not just clone(instead of imaging) to another internal HD and then use that to boot from?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Carolina Mike »
"Women do not sunbathe... They are doing a solar enhancement"


I will not answer a PM if I think the question should have been asked on the forum.

Offline Pavelow

  • Forum Specialist
  • Forum VIP.
  • ******
  • Posts: 2674
(No subject)
« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2007, 11:57:27 PM »
Well, yes I could, but I use that internal drive for video editing.  I use nearly all the 233GB on my USB WD to backup my PC.  The good news is I recovered some files for Windows NT, System32, and I386 by doing the recovery in the Win XP environment...enough to get my Win XP Accesories to function correctly.

I will do the research on those discs you suggest.  I still need to be able to backup to the external and recover from it.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Pavelow »
Pavelow
“The Boogy man not commeth because I carry.  He knows I'll put a cap in his ass." - Me